Thursday, December 8, 2011

Q & A: Support System & Childcare

Question: My husband and I are considering JAG too and I am currently pregnant with our third child ( our other two are two and one years old). My concern is feeling overwhelmed with no support system in an unfamiliar place. How have you managed with your three? What type of support system do you find on base? Are their daycares on base and what's the pricing generally for them?

To start off, I am extremely lucky and grateful that I belong to a world wide church. With that said, wherever I move I instantly have a Bishop to call and a church family who is there to help me with my move, adjustments, really anything I need. So I am not the most qualified to answer your question. BUT, the JAG Core is a great resource to start from.

Both bases I've been at have had a great support system among the JAG wives. They do regular get togethers, playdates, park groups, etc. When someone has a baby we offer help with meals, watching siblings, etc. At a larger base you will have more JAG spouses, at a smaller base there may only be a few of you so support will vary. Your concern is valid but if you are the least bit outgoing you will find your own support system because EVERYONE around you is in the same boat and you become each other's temporary family.

I don't use the CDC (on base childcare) so I'm not much help there either. In Texas, drop in was difficult and it was $5 an hour per kid, if you could actually get in. That was the rate for drop in only. Also, I'm pretty sure there is priority to children whose parents are both serving in the military. That sums up what I know about CDC...sorry!! But you can look up any base on the web, search for the CDC and ask them for more information.

1 comment:

  1. This is on a different subject, but we are getting into working out the financial details and budgeting when we get to our assignment. I'm hoping to be able to keep my job, but in the case that it doesn't transfer I'm getting concerned about the type of work available to me. Even though his salary is pretty decent it doesn't seem like it's enough for it to be feasible for me not to work. Do you work? And is the financial situation not as dismal as it seems? Feel free to ignore if it's too personal :)